## Waimakariri Sailing Club Early History

On 22 December 1927, the club was formed originally as a Power Boat Club. V J Gamble was chairman; however very few official records were kept until 1930. The yachting influence was spasmodic until 1931 when four or five gentlemen headed by Rex Sarjeant had the idea of starting a sailing club. The first meeting of the yacht club was held in a tin shed owned by the Waimakariri Harbour Board on the banks of the Kaiapoi River in the vicinity of the existing Kaiapoi Post Office. A few years later Power Boat Club members dwindled and the two clubs joined together and became the Waimakariri Sailing and Power Boat Club on September 6 1934. The club was incorporated in 10 June 1954.

## **Constitution Change 1979**

Naylor Hillary was secretary/treasurer of the club from 1972 to 1979 and also an editorial writer for the Christchurch Press.

During this period because of the low sailing membership ( the club had mostly single handed dinghies only ) the club almost became a Powerboat club. Naylor Hillary alerted the sailing membership with the result that at the next AGM the sailors rallied and changed the constitution to allow Powerboats as social members but only sailing members were given voting rights. In 1972 the club had been short of sailing members but gradually built them up with the growth of two handed classes which brought in more families. In 2016 the Club's name was changed to the Waimakariri Sailing club to reflect the sailing activities.